Compliant Bootlegger · All wholesale states · DTC tool
Alabama Wholesale Distribution Reference
Three-tier distribution reference for out-of-state suppliers of wine, beer, spirits and cider. General information, not legal advice. Confirm current requirements with state authorities. Listed agency fees are not Compliant Bootlegger service fees.
Alabama — wine
Distribution overview
- Control-state restrictions
- Only for wines with an ABV exceeding 16.5%.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Self-distribution to retailers
- No
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Licensing
- Supplier license / registration
- A Manufacturer or Importer Type
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - State license fee
- $550
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Bond requirement
- No
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Sales representative requirements
- Yes; Each representatives of a supplier must be registered with the state; however it is not required for a supplier to have representatives to sell to distributors
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Product & territory registrations
- Product / label registration
- Yes, Alabama requires that all wine brands/labels be registered with the state before they can be sold to in-state wholesalers
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Price posting
- No
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Filing distributor agreements
- Yes – with Brand Label approval
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Filing territory assignments
- Yes – with Brand Label approval
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Exclusive territory / brand rules
- Yes
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Distributor relationships
- Retailer samples
- No more than 3 liters of any brand may be provided to a retail licensee who has not purchased that product within the previous 6 months; samples may not be provided to state-run retailers
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Franchise restrictions
- Yes — Territory Adjustments are restricted
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Primary-source purchasing rules
- Yes – importers must provide an assignment letter
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Warehouse / come-to-rest requirements
- Wine may only be delivered to the ABC Board, or licensed manufacturers, importers, or wholesaler warehouses
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Taxes & reporting
- State excise tax
- $0.45 per liter
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Supplier excise-tax responsibility
- No
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Supplier reporting
- Yes – monthly, list items shipped, invoice copies, prices, and sizes
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Alabama — beer
Distribution overview
- Control-state restrictions
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Self-distribution to retailers
- No
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Licensing
- Supplier license / registration
- Type 200 or 210 Manufacturer or Importer License
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - State license fee
- $500 annually
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Bond requirement
- No
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Sales representative requirements
- Active representatives must register with the state, but it is not required to have a representative
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Product & territory registrations
- Product / label registration
- Yes – Label
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Price posting
- No
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Filing distributor agreements
- Yes
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Filing territory assignments
- Yes
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Exclusive territory / brand rules
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Distributor relationships
- Retailer samples
- Representatives may provide samples of no more than 1 case per product, which the retailer cannot have purchased within last 6 months
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Franchise restrictions
- Yes
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Primary-source purchasing rules
- No
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Warehouse / come-to-rest requirements
- Yes – must be delivered to distributor’s instate location
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Taxes & reporting
- State excise tax
- $0.05 per 12 oz; an additional $0.01625 per 4 oz. local rate also applies
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Supplier excise-tax responsibility
- No
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Supplier reporting
- Yes – monthly, list items shipped, invoice copies, prices, and sizes
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Alabama — spirits
Distribution overview
- Control-state restrictions
- Yes, Alabama is a control state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Self-distribution to retailers
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Licensing
- Supplier license / registration
- Yes, Alabama requires a Type 200 Manufacturer license for out-of-state spirits suppliers to sell to the control board.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - State license fee
- Alabama charges $500 for its Type 200 Manufacturer license for out-of-state spirits suppliers to sell to the control board.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Bond requirement
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Sales representative requirements
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Product & territory registrations
- Product / label registration
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Price posting
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Filing distributor agreements
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Filing territory assignments
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Exclusive territory / brand rules
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Distributor relationships
- Retailer samples
- Registered suppliers' representatives may provide a sample to Alabama retailers of any brands that the retailer has not purchased in the past six months in volume of no more than 750 mL. All wholesale purchases by a retailer must be made from the Alabama ABC.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Franchise restrictions
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Primary-source purchasing rules
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Warehouse / come-to-rest requirements
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Taxes & reporting
- State excise tax
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Supplier excise-tax responsibility
- Not reported by source; confirm with the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Supplier reporting
- No, Alabama does not require a follow up reports from spirits suppliers for sales to its control board.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Control-board listing process
- Who may present a listing
- Licensed suppliers may use their own employees to represent themselves to the Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board and are not required to use independent brokers.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Listing representative license
- No, if a supplier's representative will only call on the Alabama ABC they do not require a license. But if the representative will do any other work in Alabama, such as call on Alabama retailers, they are required to register with the ABC and have their employee provide an affidavit of their employment and compensation, along with a $15 annual permit fee (plus $2 per representative).
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Listing schedule
- New product presentations occur in November and May in Alabama; new listings happen on February 1 and August 1.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Container size limits
- Alabama restricts spirits listings to no sizes greater than 1.75 L.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Listing submission information
- Alabama requires spirits suppliers to provide a product description, formal price quote and market data with a listing. Market data must include lists of other states where the product is sold, market share, consumer survey and price compared to similar products. Suppliers must also provide advertising support and a tasting sample.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Board pricing
- Per Alabama Code 20-X-4-.02, case lot sales of liquor include a markup of 16.99% plus freight costs. Bottle sales of liquor include a markup of 35% plus freight costs and retail prices for sales of liquor include a markup of 35% plus freight costs. These markups are to be applied as a total markup for pricing by the Alabama ABC, and may be adjusted by the ABC.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Price changes
- Price changes must be submitted to the Alabama ABC for approval 60 days prior to their taking effect. Price changes may only occur on the first of February, May, August, or November in a year, though new spirits products may be listed at any time at the ABC's discretion.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Product codes
- Alabama uses its own master state codes for listed products.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Further listing guidance
- Contact the Alabama ABC's Product Management board: https://alabcboard.gov/product-management.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Alabama — cider
Distribution overview
- Control-state restrictions
- Yes, Alabama is a control state, but cider is sold in the private sector.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Self-distribution to retailers
- No, an out-of-state cider manufacturer may not self-distribute to retailers in Alabama.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Licensing
- Supplier license / registration
- Alabama requires out-of-state cideries to hold a Manufacturer or Importer (500 or 510) Type license to sell to Alabama wholesalers.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - State license fee
- An Alabama Manufacturer/Importer Type license costs $500, plus a $50 initial application fee.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Bond requirement
- Alabama does not require suppliers to hold a bond in the state to apply for a license.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Sales representative requirements
- Yes, Alabama requires that all in-state suppliers' representatives must be registered with the state. However, a supplier is not required to have an official in-state representative to sell to Alabama distributors.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Product & territory registrations
- Product / label registration
- Yes, Alabama requires that cider products are registered per label before they can be sold to in-state wholesalers.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Price posting
- No, Alabama does not require posting prices.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Filing distributor agreements
- Yes, Alabama requires Distributor Agreements to be filed with Brand Label Approval.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Filing territory assignments
- Yes, Alabama requires territory assignments to be filed with Brand Label Approval.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Exclusive territory / brand rules
- Yes, Alabama has rules on the exclusivity of territory or brand assignments between suppliers and their wholesalers.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Distributor relationships
- Retailer samples
- In Alabama, no more than three liters of any brand may be provided to a retail licensee who has not purchased that product within the previous six months. Samples may not be provided to state-run retailers.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Franchise restrictions
- Yes, in Alabama Territory Adjustments are restricted.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Primary-source purchasing rules
- Yes, in Alabama importers must provide an assignment letter designating from whom wholesalers can purchase.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Warehouse / come-to-rest requirements
- In Alabama, ciders may only be delivered to the ABC Board, licensed manufacturers, importers, or wholesaler warehouses.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.
Taxes & reporting
- State excise tax
- Alabama imposes a tax on cider of $0.45 per liter.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Supplier excise-tax responsibility
- No, Alabama wholesalers, not out-of-state suppliers, are required to pay the excise tax on ciders sold in the state.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law. - Supplier reporting
- Alabama requires out-of-state cider suppliers to file a monthly report of their sales to Alabama wholesalers, including summaries of invoices. The specific form to use depends on the license type held by the supplier.
Source guide retrieved 2026-10-08; retrieval is not verification of current law.